It’s beginning to look a lot like…

FALL!  I love everything about the season.  Cooler weather, being able to open windows at night and wake up shivering in the morning, indian corn, pumpkins, kabocha squash, halloween, raking leaves, brightly colored road-trips… The list goes on.  I think what i may be most excited about though, is the appearance of these:


Yes, they are definitely my favorite.  They are such a versatile, nutrient rich vegetable!  I slice em’ in half, gut out the seeds (use them separately),  roast them for an hour at 330 degrees and then slice them up into little rectangles for ease of consumption.  No wonder why i may be a little bit orange come every October.  I guess i could die my hair green and dress as an oompa loompa for halloween?

In all seriousness, i have some pretty solid plans for halloween this year.  I am going to go all out and dress as one of my childhood heros, here is a little hint.

“The power is yours!”



How many watched this show in the early 90s?  It was definitely a pioneer of it’s own time.  Most of the morals are being stressed more than ever now.  I am actually competing in a little body strength challenge with a few others for the entire month of october so hopefully i will do my Captain Planet costume justice and put on a little muscle in the process 😉
I don’t think he had to worry as much about keeping weight on as he was more of a flyer than a runner… Though i am sure he was probably a vegan!


Oh, before i forget; here is my newest obsession.  A 1/2 pound bag of organic dill.  You read correctly.  I use it in mass quantities in wraps, stir-frys, and even eat it plain.  I was a rabbit in a past life and sometimes like to graze in my kitchen.  If you haven’t tried it , you must!  The flavor is intense and if you like pickles, you are going to love this herb!  The other bag is a few heirloom tomatoes; small ones due to the astronomical price.

Ever wonder how i eat so much yet spend less than most on groceries every week?  I buy enough bulk items at my second home once a month to last for quite awhile.  Pictured, a pound each of:  Mung beans, quinoa, oat groats, cous cous (for my family), and last but certainly not least, muesli (my staple for quick morning sustenance).


Ever heard of this stuff?  I hadn’t either.  But it boasts such wonderful nutritionals that i had to scrape some change together and buy some.  Not only is it sugarless, but it is prebiotic, probiotic, organic, low-glycemic, and has 10g of fiber per tablespoon.  Sign me up.  Not to mention it tastes like vanilla agave because it is grown on agave.  Add a tablespoon to some beet burgers, now.

Deane’s Beet Burgers
(SUPER SIMPLE)

  • 2 cups freshly grated beatroot
  • 1/2 cup fresh peas
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1 cup steamed brown rice
  • 3 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon of Viv-Agave
  • 1 steamed/mashed sweet potato

Combine 2 cups freshly steamed and grated beetroots with a half cup each of fresh peas, chopped spinach, finely chopped celery, and 1 cup of steamed brown rice.  Stir vigorously while incorporating 3 heaping tablespoons of chia seeds, 1 tablespoon of Viv-Agave or other binding agent, and 1 steamed/mashed sweet potato.  The color will turn out beautifully and you will not be disappointed with the results!  The ingredients may sound a bit weird together, but it more than works!

Anyone interested in a strength challenge for the month of October?   If you want to build some serious muscle or see a noticeable increase in strength and tone in only 31 days message me to get involved.  Tutorial videos are to come…
Deane, Out!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like…

  1. I have a kobacha squash just waiting to be roasted…perhaps dinner tonight!

    Also, I would love to join your strength training – but alas, I still can’t do any weight lifting for a while. I’ll be muscling up with you in spirit. 😉

  2. beet burgers? COUNT ME IN!

    and i love that you munch on dill. you are one of a kind my friend, and that is a VERY good thing 🙂

  3. Wow-your beet burgers look great! What do you think would be a good substitution for the Viv-agave if I can’t find it?

  4. Sarah Anne

    Strength Training? I’m in! The catch – has to be able to be done at home 😉 I dance every day of the week, and do dancer’s bootcamp (cause of my limping today!) but would love to get some more fine tuning. I particularly would love to work on things from the waist up!

    • Sounds like you have quite the workout regime! I am betting with a few simple bodyweight exercises you will see crazy amounts of tone in a short amount of time due to your dancing!

  5. I love fall. Besides the fact that my birthday is in october, I just think its a true season with character. Leaves, colors, squash galore! I AM interested in the strength challenge! what do I have to do for it? I teach yoga and lift weights on a regular basis, but I’m always open to new tips!
    And I can’t tell you how much I LOVE dill! I mix it in salads daily! Its also really nice in omelets and of course, in pickles.

  6. Fall is the best! I cheezy smile 24/7 just because of the change in temp!

    Captain Planet was and IS awesome.

  7. I loved watching Captain Planet growing up! I’m intrigued by the beet burgers. I would love to love beets, but I haven’t found a way I like them yet.

Leave a Reply

